St Luke’s Care Private Hospital is committed to delivering safe, high quality, person-centred patient care throughout the patient journey. We are proud of our excellent record in continuous quality improvement and in identifying and minimising risks.

  • St Luke’s Care Private Hospital is focused on safety and quality and this is reflected in our ongoing approach to:
  • Continuously reviewing and improving the performance of our patient safety and quality systems
  • Listening to feedback from our patients, their families and carers as well as our community
  • Assisting our healthcare professionals and Accredited Medical Practitioners to monitor the safety and quality of care they deliver
  • Creating safe environments and providing access to evidence based best practice systems for our staff

The St Luke’s Care Board ensures excellence in quality of care and accountability for safety and is embedded at all levels of our organisation.

St Luke’s Care Private Hospital operates under the St Luke’s Care Clinical Governance Framework and Risk Management Framework based on an integrated approach to clinical and corporate risk management and continuous quality improvement.

Safety and Quality performance is closely monitored by the St Luke’s Care Medical Advisory Committee, the St Luke’s Care Quality Risk and Review Committee and the St Luke’s Care Consumer Advisory Committee and is reported to the Board of Directors of St Luke’s Care.

National Safety And Quality In Health Service
(HSQHS) Standards

Standard 1 and Standard 2 are the overarching standards that inform all of the other clinical standards.

Standard 1

Clinical Governance
Aims to ensure that there are systems in place within health service organisations to maintain and improve the reliability, safety and quality of health care.

Standard 2

Partnering with Consumers
Aims to ensure that consumers are partners in the design, delivery and evaluation of healthcare systems and services, and that consumers, carers and/or their family are supported to be partners in their own care.

Standard 3

Preventing and Controlling Healthcare-Associated Infection
Aims to reduce the risk of patients getting preventable healthcare-associated infections, manage infections effectively if they occur, and limit the development of antimicrobial resistance through the appropriate prescribing and use of antimicrobials.

Standard 4

Medication Safety
Aims to ensure that clinicians safely prescribe, dispense and administer appropriate medicines, and monitor medicine use. It also aims to ensure that consumers are informed about medicines, and understand their own medicine needs and risks.

Standard 5

Comprehensive Care
Aims to ensure that consumers receive comprehensive health care that meets their individual needs, and that considers the impact of their health issues on their life and wellbeing. It also aims to ensure that risks to patients during health care are prevented and managed through targeted strategies.

Standard 6

Communicating for Safety
Aims to ensure that there is effective communication between patients, carers and families, multidisciplinary teams and clinicians, and across the health service organisation, to support continuous, coordinated and safe care for patients.

Standard 7

Blood Management
Aims to ensure that patients’ own blood is safely and appropriately managed, and that any blood and blood products that patients receive are safe and appropriate.

Standard 8

Recognising and Responding to Acute Deterioration
Aims to ensure that acute deterioration in a patient’s physical, mental or cognitive condition is recognised promptly and appropriate action is taken.