Mark Compton


Mark has broad corporate governance experience as a director of ASX listed and other companies, especially in the health and life sciences sectors, including not-for-profit entities. Mark is non-executive chairman of ASX listed Sonic Healthcare Limited (SHL); Lord Prior of the Order of St John and Chairman of St John International and is also Adjunct Professor in Management at Macquarie University (Macquarie Graduate School of Management). Appointed to the Board in 2017. Elected Chairman on 27 November 2017.

Ms Jacoline Bekker


Experienced investment banker. Jacoline commenced her career as a chartered accountant with PwC in South Africa and, after completing her MBA at the University of Cambridge (UK) on scholarship, joined the JP Morgan Mergers & Acquisitions team in London (1999) followed by Grant Samuel Corporate Finance in Sydney (2002 to 2012). Appointed to the Board in 2012.

Mr Mark Bence

Property specific professional as Managing Director of a property group based in Sydney operating since the mid 1990’s, Mark has gained expertise and within the industry including property development, commercial, residential, planning, marketing, funding and acquisitions. He has been on the Darling Point Committee for a number of years, prior to joining the board, which supports St Luke’s Foundation through its annual fundraising. Mark was appointed to St Luke’s Board in 2019

Assoc Prof
A H (Sandy) Beveridge


Consultant Physician in Geriatric Medicine with a strong clinical and leadership background and belief in collaboration for delivering results and quality care. Sandy possesses a strong sense of social justice and a commitment to excellence. He has been an Accredited Medical Practitioner at St Luke’s Care since 2003. Sandy has also been involved extensively in teaching of post graduate medical trainees over many years. Appointed to the Board in November, 2021.

Mr David Cobcroft

B.Agr Econ (University Sydney)

Managing Director of Alukea Commodities Pty Ltd and Parraweena Highlands Cattle Company Pty Ltd. David co-founded Marengo Pastoral Co, a rural and cattle grazing company along with his own rural interests spread throughout NSW. David is a major shareholder of Mine Waste Energy Pty Ltd, a renewable company in the Waste to Energy area. He also has interests in a further Waste to Energy business, Sustaine Energy Pty Ltd. David was the Chairman of the Tour de Kids cycling charity for 10 years raising some $5m for the Starlight Children’s Foundation. David was appointed to the SLC Foundation Board in 2009 and became Chairman in 2021. David is also a member of the SLC Medical Advisory Committee.

Dr Matthew Gardiner


Consultant Physician – Rehabilitation Medicine; Conjoint Lecturer, Faculty of Medicine, U.N.S.W. Senior Staff Specialist – Calvary Hospital. Matthew is a highly regarded Physician with a distinguished career in both the public and private sectors. He has been an Accredited Medical Practitioner at St Luke’s Care since 2004. Dr Gardiner has been a member of the St Luke’s Care Medical Advisory Committee since September 2010, serving as the Committee’s Chairman from December 2010 to November 2016. Appointed to the Board in November 2016.

Mr Ian James

Ian is in his 46th year of practice as a commercial lawyer, having secured admission as a Solicitor in England, Hong Kong and most of the jurisdictions in Australia. In addition to living and working as a lawyer in London and Hong Kong, Ian has been a partner in major law firms for some 25 years, where he has been involved in active leadership roles. He brings to his role as a director, substantial and varied experience involving many transactions in different parts of the world. He also brings some 10 years of experience as a director of an Australian listed company. Appointed to the Board in 2019.

Mrs Fiona Playfair

Dip. History of Art

Company Director. Fiona was a Director of the Lizard Island Reef Research Foundation from 2003 to 2016 and a Director of the Historic Houses Trust from 2011 to 2014. Fiona has for many years devoted time to schools and community organisations and continues to do so. Appointed to the Board in 2015.